What We Do

The Department of Public Works is charged with maintaining the City infrastructure including water and wastewater facilities for the City and ten municipalities; managing a Nationally-recognized stormwater program; providing safe and clean streets; maintaining and improving public buildings and other public facilities; enhancing recreational opportunities in the City’s parks and open spaces for residents and for use by the Lancaster Recreation Commission; managing and coordinating the single hauler trash and recycling program; and a vibrant public art program. These services combine to ensure public health and safety and enhance the quality of life in the City. The Director of Public Works relies on roughly 210 full-time employees to fulfill the Department’s mission. The Director of Public Works administers the City’s Capital Improvement Plan projects and serves as the chief technical advisor and liaison with the community on behalf of the Mayor and Council. The Director represents the City on several Boards and Commissions including the Long’s Park Commission, Lancaster Area Transportation Study Committee (County MPO), Lancaster Recreation Commission, American Public Works Association, Water Utility Council (American Water Works Assoc. – Pennsylvania seat), Central Market Trust Board of Directors, Public Arts Advisory Committee, Lancaster County Clean Water Consortium, The Green Infrastructure Advisory Committee and EDC Finance Board.

 

The Department of Public Works is comprised of six operating bureaus under the direction of seven managers and two Deputy Directors:

 

• Bureau of Operations (Street Maintenance, Motor Vehicles, Traffic, Parks)
• Bureau of Engineering and Construction Services
• Bureau of Public Property
• Bureau of Water
• Bureau of Wastewater Operations
• Solid Waste and Recycling Program
• Public Art Program
• Bureau of Stormwater Management

General Contact Info

Address

City of Lancaster
120 North Duke Street
P.O. Box 1599
Lancaster, PA 17608

 

Phone

(717) 291-4711

Who We Are
Who We Are
Joanna Davis-Seedorf
Public Art Manager
jdavis@cityoflancasterpa.com
Mike Devaney
Solid Waste & Recycling Manager
mdevaney@cityoflancasterpa.com
Gabrielle Diakow Herwig
Engineering Customer Service Coordinator
gdiakow@cityoflancasterpa.com
Kevin Flanagan
Construction Inspector
kflanagan@cityoflancasterpa.com
Travis Good
Construction Inspector
tgood@cityoflancasterpa.com
Jason Gore
Construction Inspector
jgore@cityoflancasterpa.com
Ruth Hocker
Stormwater Program Manager
rhocker@cityoflancasterpa.com
Ryan Hunter
Facilites Manager
rhunter@cityoflancasterpa.com
Donna Jessup
Operations Manager
djessup@cityoflancasterpa.com
Robert Ludgate
Collections System Supervisor
rludgate@cityoflancasterpa.com
Cindy McCormick
Deputy Director, Engineering
cmccormick@cityoflancasterpa.com
Matt Metzler
Deputy Director, Construction Services
mmetzler@cityoflancasterpa.com
Benjamin Perwien
Utility Engineer
bperwien@cityoflancasterpa.com
Glen Recknagel
GIS Coordinator
grecknagel@cityoflancasterpa.com
Cory Simo
Assistant Solid Waste & Recycling Manager
csimo@cityoflancasterpa.com