What We Do

The Department of Community Planning and Economic Development (CPED) is comprised of two major divisions of three bureaus each, which work together to build strong neighborhoods and elevate quality of life for all people who live, work, and play in the City of Lancaster. The Department manages a range of programs that aim to support business and job creation, facilitate safe and affordable housing options, improve the quality of our built and natural environments, champion the design of our civic spaces and facilities, and ultimately protect and enhance the health and wellness of our community members.

 

The Department engages with stakeholders across its programs to glean meaningful input in the execution of its mission. The Department works closely with the Lancaster City Alliance to implement the Building on Strength Economic Development Plan first adopted in 2015. It also actively engages with other agencies, community organizations and neighborhood associations promoting the equity, prosperity, and sustainable development of the City.

 

The Department also staffs and guides many City Boards, Authorities, and Commissions, including the Lancaster Property Reinvestment Board, the Redevelopment Authority of the City of Lancaster, the Lancaster City Land Bank Authority, the Planning Commission, the Zoning Hearing Board, the Historical Commission, and several other bodies that help to manage change and shape growth in the City.

General Contact Info

Address

120 N. Duke St.
Lancaster, PA 17602

 

Office hours

Monday – Friday
8:30 a.m. – 5 p.m.

 

Phone

(717) 291-4759

 

Fax

(717) 291-4772

 

 

Upcoming Events

There are currently no upcoming events.

Who We Are
Latest News
Who We Are
Christopher Delfs
Director of CPED
cdelfs@cityoflancasterpa.com
Rebecca Geiser
Deputy Director, Health, Housing and Community Development
rgeiser@cityoflancasterpa.com
Denice Lazo
Staff Assistant/Department Coordinator
dlazo@cityoflancasterpa.com
James Nixon
Bureau Chief
jnixon@cityoflancasterpa.com
Douglas Smith
Chief Planner
dsmith@cityoflancasterpa.com
Kim Wissler
Bureau Chief/Health Officer
kwissler@cityoflancasterpa.com
Tyresa Bailey
Health Clerk
tbailey@cityoflancasterpa.com
Alissa Calhoun
Assistant Welcome Center Manager
acalhoun@cityoflancasterpa.com
Adam Coleman
Residential Code Official
acoleman@cityoflancasterpa.com
Emma Hamme
Senior Planner
emhamme@cityoflancasterpa.com
David Hamric
Commercial Code Official
dhamric@cityoflancasterpa.com
Cheila Huettner
Welcome Center Manager
chuettner@cityoflancasterpa.com
Kevin Kauffman
Health Officer/Lead Risk Assessor
kkauffman@cityoflancasterpa.com
Mandali Kejjo
City Planner
MKejjo@cityoflancasterpa.com
Molly Kirchoff
Program Manager, Public Art & Urban Design
MKirchoff@cityoflancasterpa.com
Sonia Lebron
Health and Housing Social Services Case Manager
slebron@cityoflancasterpa.com
Terri Michael
Building/Plumbing/Zoning Clerk
tmichael@cityoflancasterpa.com
Lori Parson
Building/Plumbing/Zoning Clerk
lparson@cityoflancasterpa.com
Tom Paul
Commercial Code Official
tpaul@cityoflancasterpa.com
DJ Ramsay
Communications Manager
dramsay@cityoflancasterpa.com
Suzanne Stallings
Historic Preservation Specialist
sstallin@cityoflancasterpa.com
Jameel Thrash
Zoning Officer
jathrash@cityoflancasterpa.com
Maggie Warner
Permit Coordinator
mawarner@cityoflancasterpa.com
Isabel Wong
Health Officer
iwong@cityoflancasterpa.com
Kate Wright
Special Events & Programs Manager
kawright@cityoflancasterpa.com
Patricia Wright-Sherman
Administrative Assistant
pwrightsherman@cityoflancasterpa.com
Latest News
Residents Deliberate Lancaster City’s Future at Forum hosted by Franklin & Marshall College Bureau of Planning Department of Community Planning & Economic Development Land Development & City Design Division
In July, the City of Lancaster’s comprehensive plan team partnered with Franklin &…
City to Host the Community Development Forum Part 2 on June 30 at 6PM Department of Community Planning & Economic Development Health, Housing & Community Development Division
The City of Lancaster will host the Community Development Forum – Part 2, to review its Draft 2022…
Event Alert – Red Rose Run LOOP
The Red Rose Run returns to Lancaster City on June 4th! City residents…
City of Lancaster, Church World Service Announce Artist Selected for Welcoming Mural Department of Community Planning & Economic Development Public Art Program
The City of Lancaster and Church World Service (CWS) Lancaster’s Welcoming Mural Advisory Council …
Request for Proposals: Lancaster County & City of Lancaster Affordable Housing Programs Department of Community Planning & Economic Development
The Lancaster County Rede…
Red Rose Run to Return to Lancaster in June LOOP
Today the City of Lancaster announced the return to the Red Rose Run, scheduled …